Review: Midnight Valentine by J.T. Geissinger (@Mollykatie112, @JTGeissinger)

Posted February 6, 2018 by Lorna in Fantasy romance, Lorna, Reviews / 16 Comments

Review: Midnight Valentine by J.T. Geissinger (@Mollykatie112, @JTGeissinger)
Midnight Valentine by J.T. Geissinger
Published by Indie
Published on: February 6, 2018
Genres: Fantasy Romance
Pages: 316
Format: eARC
Source: Author
One StarOne StarOne StarOne StarOne Star
Amazon | GoodReads

A hauntingly powerful love story in the tradition of The Notebook and The Time Traveler’s Wife.

“How can you remember someone you’ve never met?”


Megan and Cassidy were childhood sweethearts who thought they'd be together forever, but fate had other plans. Soon after they were married, Cass’s life was tragically cut short. Still grieving her soul mate five years later, Megan moves to the small town of Seaside, Oregon, hoping to rebuild her life.

Her first night there, she meets the town recluse, Theo. Withdrawn, guarded, and mysteriously silent since a terrible accident left him scarred, Theo takes an instant and inexplicable dislike to Megan. But as their paths cross again and again, Megan becomes convinced there’s more to Theo than meets the eye.

When she discovers the reason for his silence, his nightmares, and especially his pointed dislike, Megan becomes convinced of something far more astonishing.

Is a second chance at a once-in-a-lifetime love possible, or is a broken heart the cruelest kind of liar?

Fantasy Romance Re-Readable Unique Page Turner

Lately I have been reading or listening to more than my share of romances. To be honest, a lot of them are forgettable, except for some amazing authors that seem to always write a great romance. J.T. Geissinger is one of those authors and with this book, she has written a story that I won’t soon forget-if at all.

Megan is grieving the loss of the love of her life, Cass, five years previously. Because of that, she moves to Seaside, Oregon to rehab an old Victorian bed and breakfast that she and her husband had wanted to buy and eventually run. Before she even makes it to her new home, she see Theo, a forbidding man, at the local diner. He hates her on sight and she can tell. It’s inexplicable and bothers her, needless to say. When he ends up being the best of the contractors in town, she comes into contact with him almost on a daily basis. That is, when he can stand being in the same room with her. Weirdly, when they meet about what is to be done at the inn, he already has a huge notebook completed pertaining to his ideas for the project. And that’s definitely not the only thing weird going on.

The setting for this book in the small town of Seaside was extra fun for me as I once visited there on a vacation. I only spent one day there, but remember it well. So the beautiful beach setting was the first thing I personally loved about this book. Secondly, the characters were amazingly fleshed out by the author. Megan was very sad, but equally outspoken. She didn’t let much get by her and if she was unhappy with something, well then she definitely let you know. Theo was dark, brooding, and scarred from an accident years before. After the accident, he never talked again. And while the town seems to care about him and think him a good person, he has a big problem with Megan. There are a few peripheral characters that I also enjoyed, Theo’s project manager, Coop, in particular. Even he was very well drawn by the author, and I appreciated that. And last but not least, the premise. Early on you know something strange is going on between Theo and in turn, Megan. He has a major problem with her for what she thinks is no reason, and she faces that head on. She won’t allow him to dis her, but he manages to, time and again. He has his reasons, and slowly, those reasons become apparent. Well, maybe not so slowly. Also, apparent is that there’s something almost magical that has happened. And I am leaving it at that!

When I finished this book, I wished I could rate it higher than the usual 5 stars. The writing itself was just so flat out good. Geissinger does have a way with words and descriptions. Her romances are always different from the norm, and definitely not cookie cutter. And this time, she takes the romance into the metaphysical realm. Is it supernatural? Or coincidence? I’m going with supernatural. I absolutely loved the whole thing, especially the slow burn of the romance.

Highly recommended to adult fantasy romance readers and contemporary romance fans as well. Adult due to some sensual scenes. I received a copy of this from the author in exchange for a fair and honest review.



Lorna Signature

One StarOne StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

I’m Lorna and I live in Maryland. Since retiring, I spend my time mostly reading and reviewing books. My favorite reads are Paranormal Romance, Urban Fantasy, and Young Adult. I read a lot of indie books in addition to traditionally published books. Favorite paranormal creature? Vampires, but I am really liking werewolves more everyday.

Twitter   

Tags: , , ,


Get your daily dose of Rabid Reads in your inbox! Subscribe via e-mail:
Rakuten Kobo U.S


16 responses to “Review: Midnight Valentine by J.T. Geissinger (@Mollykatie112, @JTGeissinger)

  1. You know you made me a fan of Geissinger 😉 and it seems like she delivers in this one exactly what I’d expect from her – incredible characters, compelling plot, and a setting brought to life! Seaside is actually a place I wouldn’t mind moving to if my kids end up in the PNW. It’s beautiful! 🙂 Anyway, I’ll be checking out Megan and Theo’s story. 🙂
    Bookworm Brandee recently posted…New Release Review ~ Born, Madly ~ Trisha Wolfe (@TrishWolfe) #2018NewRelease

    • It’s a fantasy romance. She’s actually one of my favorite authors. She wrote one of my top five paranormal series, Night Prowler. So good. That’s when I got hooked on her writing. I did review one of them on RR back when I first started.

Leave a Reply

CommentLuv badge